Skip Navigation Linksdefault

​​​Join the #Giving Movement!

Give the gift of education with us this #GivingTuesday!


Give the gift of Solidarité with us on Sunday, Nov 29th at Roux!

Roux, the University of Louisville French Department, and Sister Cities of Louisville are holding a fundraising event, "Let the Good Times Roll Again – solidarité" on November 29th, to raise funds for Friends of Fondation de France, the largest aid organization that readily accepts US currency and ensures a 100% of the donation will be used in France.

"Let the Good Times Roll Again - solidarité" will be held on Sunday evening, November 29th 5-11 pm at Roux (1325 Bardstown Rd, Louisville, KY 40204). The evening at Roux will include small-plate food from Roux, desserts from Ghyslain, live music from Swing 39 and Carly Johnson, and a silent auction. A door charge will help Roux recoup some of the cost associated with this evening, but all proceeds from their specialty cocktail "French 75," the auction, and any cash donations will be sent directly to Friends of Fondation de France.​

Give the gift of warmth to refugees - by December 5th!

The American Turkish Friendship Association (ATFA) of Kentucky, in partnership with Embrace Relief and Sister Cities of Louisville, is organizing a blanket and coat drive to help the families of Syrian refugees in Turkey. As you may know, there are more than two million Syrian refugees in Turkey. Many of these families are living in simple tents. In the coming winter, refugee families may suffer badly in cold weather.

A small donation could help these families significantly.

We accept new or gently used blankets and coats. Please deliver them clean and folded (no sheets, please). Our goal is to fill several shipping containers that will then be delivered to Turkey, where a local relief agency will distribute them to refugee families. We ask that donations of blankets and coats are made no later than 5 pm on December 5th to ensure they are delivered in time for winter weather. 

Please find the drop-off locations and hours listed below.

Louisville - ATFA Kentucky
4711 Progress Blvd Louisville, KY 40220
Weekdays: 9:00am - 8:00pm
Weekend: 10:00am - 5:00pm
(502) 694-0858 (Mr. Demirel)

Louisville - Sister Cities of Louisville
620 S 3rd St suite 100 Louisville, KY 40202
Weekdays: 9:00am - 5:00pm
(502) 574-3397 (Ms. Streeter)

Lexington - 183 Transcript Ave. Apt. 3 Lexington, KY 40508
Call or send SMS before delivery
(502) 797-1031 (Mrs. Ozkir)

​​What is Sister Cities?

In 1956, President Dwight D. Eisenhower launched the People-to-People idea. His intention was to involve individuals and organized groups at all levels of society in citizen diplomacy, with hope that personal relationships, fostered through city, county and state affiliations, would lessen the chance of future world conflicts. Recognizing the importance of involving all citizens in world diplomacy, he called upon the nation's cities as the centers of opportunity, expression and economic growth, to unite with communities around the world in building a solid structure of world peace. 

At the core of all sister cities relationships is an agreement, signed by the Mayors of each city, reflecting their mutual commitment to building bridges between governments, businesses and individuals. Today, through formal Sister Cities affiliations governed by Sister Cities International, 2,400 Sister Cities relationships are bringing citizens together.

What are Louisville's Sister Cities?

Louisville's nine sister cities and years of partnership are:

· Montpellier, France (1954)

· Quito, Ecuador (1962)

· Tamale, Ghana (1979)

· Mainz, Germany (1994)

· La Plata, Argentina (1994)

· Perm, Russia (1994)

· Jiujiang, PR China (2004)

· Leeds, England (2006)

· Adapazari, Turkey (2012)


This #GivingTuesday give to education in Tamale, Ghana!

​Join our email list!

To stay up to date on all Sister Cities' activities, please sign up for our email list by clicking on the button below!

Email List Sign Up

Are you on social media? Follow us on:​